Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

NSERC Presents 2 Minutes with Barbara Sherwood Lollar

Department of Earth Sciences, University of Toronto


Summary

Video Name

2 Minutes with Barbara Sherwood Lollar

Author

NSERC Communications

Duration

2:06

Release Date

February 16, 2016

Description

Barbara Sherwood Lollar and colleagues grabbed headlines around the world with their discovery of ancient waters bubbling out of rock fractures in mines more than two kilometres underground in Timmins, Ontario, and South Africa. This research shifts our conception of how old groundwater can be and expands our understanding of energy-producing chemical reactions that sustain deep microbial life. Dr. Sherwood Lollar is the winner of NSERC's John C. Polanyi Award for the year 2016.

Transcript
Barbara Sherwood Lollar

When I was in high school, just beginning to think about what to study at university, they’d found for the first time in the deep, dark parts of the ocean bottom the hydrothermal vents.

And this was changing our understanding of the nature of life on the planet, the fact that there were chemosynthetic organisms, or microorganisms deriving their energy for life not from sun’s energy but from the chemistry of water-rock reaction.

What our work has done is taken that another step, moving away from the ocean floors to the exploration of the continents. We work all over the world, but one of the most important localities for these kinds of rocks is the Canadian Shield. In some of the sites, they’ve found water that pushes back our understanding of how old groundwater can be, because some of these waters actually have residence times on the order of billions of years. Most of the oldest water that has ever been proposed to have been found is maybe 100, 200 million years old.

The other very important thing about this water is that it is very salty. And what that means to us is, being salty, it is also full of all kinds of chemical energy that may be able to support life in these kinds of systems just as we’ve seen on the hydrothermal vents of the ocean floor. Understanding where we see life and where we don’t see life in the deep, salty waters and ancient rock on our planet will help us design strategies for looking for life, or evidence of past life, on the deep, salty waters and the ancient rocks of Mars.

And so if we’re looking for life on Mars, we understand now that either if life ever arose and then became extinct, or if there’s any evidence that there’s still some microbial life present on our sister planet, that that life is likely deep within the planet, protected from the very harsh surface environment.

People Discovery Innovation

Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie du Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Le CRSNG présente 2 minutes avec Barbara Sherwood Lollar

Département des sciences de la Terre, University of Toronto


Résumé

Titre de la vidéo

2 minutes avec Barbara Sherwood Lollar

Auteur

Division des communications du CRSNG

Durée

2:06

Date de diffusion

le 16 février 2016

Description

Barbara Sherwood Lollar et ses collègues ont fait la une dans le monde entier lorsqu’ils ont découvert que des eaux anciennes jaillissaient des fractures de la roche dans des mines situées à plus de deux kilomètres de profondeur à Timmins (Ontario) et en Afrique du Sud. Leurs travaux changent notre conception de l’âge des eaux souterraines anciennes et permettent d’approfondir notre connaissance des réactions chimiques qui produisent l’énergie essentielle à la vie microbienne en profondeur. Mme Sherwood Lollar est la récipiendaire du Prix John-C.-Polanyi du CRSNG pour l'année 2016.


Transcription
Barbara Sherwood Lollar

Lorsque j’étais au secondaire et que je me demandais quoi étudier à l’université, on venait de découvrir les cheminées hydrothermales dans les fonds marins. Cela a changé notre compréhension de la nature de la vie sur notre planète, car on savait maintenant qu’il existait des organismes chimiotrophes, microorganismes qui puisent leur énergie vitale non pas du soleil, mais bien des réactions chimiques entre l’eau et la roche.

Nos travaux nous ont poussés à aller encore plus loin que les fonds marins et à explorer les continents. Nous travaillons partout dans le monde, mais l’un des lieux les plus importants pour ces types de roches est le Bouclier canadien. L’eau trouvée à certains endroits nous a fait repousser les limites de l’âge qu’on donnait aux eaux souterraines. En effet, ces eaux ont parfois un temps de séjour qui se mesure en milliards d’années. Pour la majorité des eaux anciennes qu’on estimait être les plus vieilles, leur âge s’établissait à 100, voire 200 millions d’années.

Autre caractéristique importante de ces eaux : elles sont très salées. Et pour nous, cette salinité signifie qu’elles comportent toute sorte d’énergie chimique qui pourrait être propice à la vie dans ces genres de systèmes, tout comme nous l’avons vu sur les cheminées hydrothermales des fonds marins. Comprendre pourquoi il y a de la vie ou pas à certains endroits dans les eaux profondes et salées et les roches anciennes de notre planète nous aidera à concevoir des stratégies de recherche de formes de vie ou de preuves qu’il y a eu de la vie dans les eaux profondes et salées et les roches anciennes de Mars.

Donc, si nous cherchons de la vie sur Mars, nous savons maintenant que, s’il y en a déjà eu qui serait aujourd’hui éteinte ou s’il existe des preuves indiquant que de la vie microbienne y est toujours présente, nous devons chercher dans les couches profondes de la planète, où cette vie est à l’abri de l’environnement très hostile de surface.

Cette vidéo vous a-t-elle été utile?

Très utile

Peu utile

Inutile

Sans opinion

Commentaires :

Les gens. La découverte. L'innovation.