Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

NSERC Presents 2 Minutes with Shana Kelley and Edward H. Sargent

Leslie Dan Faculty of Pharmacy, Faculty of Medicine and Faculty of Applied Science and Engineering, University of Toronto


Summary

Video Name

2 Minutes with Shana Kelley and Edward H. Sargent

Author

NSERC Communications

Duration

2:23

Release Date

February 16, 2016

Description

Shana Kelley and Edward H. Sargent have combined their expertise to develop a breakthrough medical diagnostic platform called AuRA. The result of an 11-year partnership, their rapid and reliable point-of-care testing will transform the way health care is delivered. More specific and rapid diagnoses will help limit the spread of infectious disease and control antibiotic resistance. Dr. Kelley and Dr. Sargent won NSERC's Brockhouse Canada Prize for Interdisciplinary Research in Science and Engineering in 2016.

Transcript
Shana Kelley

If you think about all of the problems that plague the medical system here, that affect people in the developing world, some of these are really kind of unnecessary problems. I mean, millions of people die every year of tuberculosis because thereís not good ways to diagnose tuberculosis on the spot and to know how to treat it. Today, a sample is taken from the patient and then sent to a lab, which may be 10 or a 100 miles away. Sending that sample, getting the results back, it takes a lot of time. So weíve been working on tools to allow disease to be diagnosed much faster.

Edward H. Sargent

We were both really interested in nanomaterials and what you could do with them. And she brought this great depth in nucleic acids chemistry, so in the chemistry of DNA. And I was interested in nanomaterials more as an engineer, trying to make materials with better properties. And so by working together, Shana and I and our teams were able to go from this scientific proof of principle of incredibly sensitive DNA detection and take it to something that could be engineered, constructed on a manufacturable platform.

Shana Kelley

In 2010 we thought that the technology was mature enough to maybe leave the academic lab and be the foundation for a company, so we started Xagenic. We have plans to apply the technology to problems that are really kind of developing world problems.

Edward H. Sargent

Shana and her team are taking this technology forward into the marketplace with Xagenic, which is really going to have a revolutionary impact on healthcare. Itís going to change the way disease diagnosis occurs.

Shana Kelley

A sample is taken from a patient, itís put into the cartridge, the cartridge goes into the testing instrument, and then a diagnostic test result is returned 20 minutes later. Itís been very exciting to see something go from kind of our early proof of concept into a real product.

People Discovery Innovation

Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie du Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Le CRSNG présente 2 minutes avec Shana Kelley et Edward H. Sargent

Faculté de pharmacie Leslie Dan, Faculté de médecine et Faculté de sciences appliquées et de génie, University of Toronto


Résumé

Titre de la vidéo

2 minutes avec Shana Kelley et Edward H. Sargent

Auteur

Division des communications du CRSNG

Durée

2:23

Date de diffusion

le 16 février 2016

Description

Shana Kelley et Edward H. Sargent ont allié leur expertise pour créer un appareil de diagnostic médical révolutionnaire appelée AuRA. Résultat d’un partenariat de 11 ans, cet appareil d’analyse hors laboratoire rapide et fiable transformera la prestation des soins de santé. Les diagnostics précis et rapides contribueront à limiter la transmission des maladies infectieuses et la résistance aux antibiotiques. Mme Kelley et M. Sargent sont les récipiendaires du Prix Brockhouse du Canada pour la recherche interdisciplinaire en sciences et en génie, décerné par le CRSNG en 2016.


Transcription
Shana Kelley

Quand on pense à tous les problèmes qui nuisent au système de soins de santé ici ou qui touchent les populations des pays en développement, certains ne devraient pas exister. Des millions de personnes meurent chaque année de la tuberculose, car il n’existe aucune bonne façon de diagnostiquer la maladie sur le terrain et de déterminer le traitement approprié. À l’heure actuelle, un échantillon est prélevé du patient et ensuite envoyé à un laboratoire qui peut être à 10 ou 100 kilomètres. Envoyer l’échantillon et attendre les résultats prend beaucoup de temps. Donc nous élaborons des outils pour diagnostiquer la maladie beaucoup plus rapidement.

Edward H. Sargent

Nous étions tous les deux curieux à propos des nanomatériaux et de leurs applications. Shana a de vastes connaissances en chimie des acides nucléiques, c’est-à-dire en chimie de l’ADN. Et moi, je m’intéresse aux nanomatériaux à titre d’ingénieur qui souhaite produire des matériaux avec de meilleures propriétés. Alors, en travaillant ensemble, Shana, nos équipes et moi avons été en mesure, après la validation de principe d’un dispositif extrêmement précis de détection de l’ADN, d’en arriver à quelque chose qui peut être fabriqué sur une plateforme commercialisable.

Shana Kelley

En 2010, nous estimions que la technologie était suffisamment mature pour quitter le laboratoire et devenir le fondement d’une entreprise, alors nous avons démarré Xagenic. Nous prévoyons appliquer la technologie aux problèmes qui sont inhérents aux pays en développement.

Edward H. Sargent

Shana et son équipe font avancer cette technologie en vue de la commercialiser avec Xagenic, ce qui aura une incidence révolutionnaire sur les soins de santé. Cette technologie changera la façon dont les maladies sont diagnostiquées.

Shana Kelley

On prélève un échantillon du patient et on le met dans une cartouche. On insère la cartouche dans l’appareil de test et on obtient les résultats, donc un diagnostic, 20 minutes plus tard. C’est très stimulant de voir une technologie passer de l’étape de la validation de principe à un produit concret.

Cette vidéo vous a-t-elle été utile?

Très utile

Peu utile

Inutile

Sans opinion

Commentaires :

Les gens. La découverte. L'innovation.