Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

NSERC Presents a Conversation with Victoria M. Kaspi

Department of Physics, McGill University, interviewed by B. Mario Pinto, President of NSERC


Summary

Video Name

Conversation with Victoria M. Kaspi

Author

NSERC Communications

Duration

3:28

Release Date

February 16, 2016

Description

Victoria M. Kaspi is one of the worldís leading experts on neutron stars, the ancient remnants of the most massive stars in the Milky Way. Her research group has had major impacts in the field of astrophysics, and her seminal work sheds light on how stars evolve, how they die and, ultimately, the very nature of matter under extreme conditions. Dr. Kaspi is the winner of NSERC's 2016 Gerhard Herzberg Canada Gold Medal for Science and Engineering.

Transcript
B. Mario Pinto

Hello ladies and gentlemen, Iím Mario Pinto, President of the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada. Iím here at McGill University with Victoria Kaspi, winner of the 2016 Gerhard Herzberg Gold Medal.

Vicky, itís a pleasure to be here with you. Congratulations on winning NSERCís top prize, a well-deserved honour given your impressive research career as an astrophysicist. Astrophysics is a broad discipline, big enough to encompass the universe. What led you to this area of study?

Victoria M. Kaspi

I study neutron stars, which is a rare kind of collapsed stars. Pulsars and magnetars are forms of neutron stars, and they form when massive stars die, end their lives. And part of that process is also what ejects, in a supernova explosion, a matter throughout the galaxy, and that same matter is what ends up making, you know, planets and tables and cameras and things like that. So part of understanding the evolution of stars and the formation of neutron stars is understanding the origin of all matter, even the matter that weíre made out of.

B. Mario Pinto

You and your research team have made several major discoveries, including identifying the fastest rotating star and uncovering a rare class of neutron stars. How did you arrive at your moments of discovery?

Victoria M. Kaspi

Once you realize something new and interesting about the universe, you start to think, ďOh, what does this imply?Ē because, you know, science builds up in layers. And so once youíve put down a new layer, you can think, ďAh, where am I going with this and where will this take me next?Ē NSERC has given me the freedom to study in my own style, in my own way, in the way that Iím sure is the best way to make progress in the field. Itís that, itís the flexibility that enables the scientific discoveries. If you were to clock my hours in my job, itís many hours. Itís much more than a standard job. But itís like Iím not working because I love what I do so much.

B. Mario Pinto

Finally, youíre the winner of the 2016 Gerhard Herzberg Gold Medal. This is NSERCís highest honour. Could you share a few thoughts on what it means to you to win this award?

Victoria M. Kaspi

Just, I donít even have the words to convey how I feel about it. Iím profoundly honoured and really deeply touched to have that recognition of the research that my group does. And really, I accept it on behalf of my research group. And also, to be in the same category as some of the past Herzberg award winners, it just blows me away. Iím thrilled and honoured.

B. Mario Pinto

Itís been a pleasure to speak with you today, Vicky. Congratulations once again on winning NSERCís Herzberg prize.

Victoria M. Kaspi

Thank you very much.

People Discovery Innovation

Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie du Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Le CRSNG présente une conversation avec Victoria M. Kaspi

Département de physique, Université McGill, interviewée par B. Mario Pinto, président du CRSNG


Résumé

Titre de la vidéo

Conversation avec Victoria M. Kaspi

Auteur

Division des communications du CRSNG

Durée

3:34

Date de diffusion

le 16 février 2016

Description

Victoria M. Kaspi compte parmi les grands experts du monde en matière d’étoiles à neutrons, ces anciens débris d’étoiles massives de la Voie lactée. Son équipe de chercheurs a obtenu des résultats importants dans le domaine de l’astrophysique et ses travaux majeurs font la lumière sur l’évolution et la mort des étoiles, ainsi que la nature même de la matière dans des conditions extrêmes. Mme Kaspi est la récipiendaire de la Médaille d'or Gerhard-Herzberg en sciences et en génie du Canada de 2016, décerné par le CRSNG.


Transcription
B. Mario Pinto

Bonjour, Mesdames et Messieurs. Je m’appelle Mario Pinto et je suis président du Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie du Canada.

Je me trouve à l’Université McGill en compagnie de Victoria Kaspi, lauréate de la Médaille d’or Gerhard-Herzberg en sciences et en génie du Canada de 2016.

Vicky, je suis heureux d’être ici avec vous et vous félicite d’avoir remporté le plus grand prix du CRSNG. C’est un honneur bien mérité compte tenu de votre impressionnante carrière de recherche en astrophysique. L’astrophysique est une discipline vaste, assez grande pour embrasser l’univers. Qu’est-ce qui vous a attirée dans ce domaine?

Victoria M. Kaspi

J’étudie les étoiles à neutrons, une sorte d’étoiles effondrées rares. Les pulsars et les magnétars sont des types d’étoiles à neutrons qui se forment à la mort des étoiles massives. C’est pendant ce processus, à l’explosion des supernovas, que la matière est projetée dans la galaxie. Et c’est cette matière qui constitue les planètes, les tables, les caméras et autres objets. Pour comprendre l’évolution des étoiles et la formation des étoiles à neutrons, il faut comprendre l’origine de la matière, même celle dont nous sommes faits.

B. Mario Pinto

Votre équipe de chercheurs et vous avez fait plusieurs découvertes majeures, dont celle de l’étoile à la rotation la plus rapide et celle d’une classe rare d’étoiles à neutrons. Comment y êtes-vous parvenus?

Victoria M. Kaspi

Quand on découvre quelque chose d’intéressant sur l’univers, on se demande quelles sont les conséquences. Vous savez, la science progresse par couches. À chaque couche qu’on ajoute, on se demande où ça mène et quelle est l’étape suivante. Le CRSNG me donne la liberté d’étudier à ma manière, à la manière qui, selon moi, est la meilleure pour faire avancer ce domaine. C’est cela, cette latitude, qui nous permet de faire des découvertes scientifiques. Si vous comptiez mes heures de travail, ça ferait beaucoup. C’est beaucoup plus que pour un boulot ordinaire. Mais je n’ai pas l’impression de travailler parce que j’aime énormément ce que je fais.

B. Mario Pinto

Pour terminer, vous avez remporté la Médaille d’or Gerhard-Herzberg de 2016.

C’est le prix le plus prestigieux du CRSNG. Pouvez-vous nous dire quelques mots sur ce que ce prix représente pour vous?

Victoria M. Kaspi

Il n’y a pas de mots pour exprimer ce que je ressens.

C’est un grand honneur et je suis très touchée de cette marque de reconnaissance pour les travaux de mon groupe de chercheurs. Et j’accepte vraiment ce prix au nom de mon groupe.

D’être dans la même catégorie que certains des anciens lauréats Herzberg, je n’arrive pas à le croire. C’est une joie et un honneur.

B. Mario Pinto

C’était un plaisir de m’entretenir avec vous aujourd’hui, Vicky.

Encore félicitations d’avoir remporté la Médaille Herzberg du CRSNG.

Victoria M. Kaspi

Merci beaucoup.

Cette vidéo vous a-t-elle été utile?

Très utile

Peu utile

Inutile

Sans opinion

Commentaires :

Les gens. La découverte. L'innovation.