Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

NSERC Presents 2 Minutes with Ray Hoemsen

Director, Applied Research & Commercialization, Red River College, in partnership with Manitoba Hydro


Summary

Video Name

2 Minutes with Ray Hoemsen

Author

NSERC Communications

Duration

2:26

Release Date

February 16, 2016

Description

Red River College and Manitoba Hydro have been partners for over a decade in improving energy performance and increasing sustainability in Manitoba. Their research into the energy efficiency of buildings led to the construction of the most energy-efficient building in North America. The partnership now extends to the sustainable electrification of transportation. This partnership earned Dr. Hoemsen one of NSERC's Synergy Awards for Innovation in 2015.

Transcript
Dale Friesen

Manitoba Hydro is a leader in conservation. We're responsible for much of the delivery of conservation programs, energy efficiency programs, here within the province of Manitoba. Through that, we develop numerous relationships, and one of those is with Red River College.

Ray Hoemsen

Well, we became involved with Manitoba Hydro through a downtown office project back in 2005. They were looking for a lab with which to work to do the prototype for the building envelope for the building we're sitting in. They wanted to have a very energy-efficient building, and we wanted to make sure that the new technology we're incorporating in the Manitoba Hydro Place would be appropriate for the climate we have here, especially the extreme cold.

Dale Friesen

This building is very different. It embraces the outside world, and that requires a lot of very innovative technologies. We use passive solar technologies through the curtain wall, through the many different types of glass that we incorporate into the building. Rather than using fans to move air, we use natural convection.

Ray Hoemsen

We received the Sustainability Award from the province back in 2009, and then most recently from an international organization, for the work we've been doing in sustainable technologies.

Dale Friesen

There has to be an opportunity to examine new technologies, understand their relevance to Manitoba, and look at ways of adopting them. Our partnerships with Red River College allow us to do that. The Manitoba electric bus project is a really exciting project, in that it's cutting edge.

Ray Hoemsen

In 2010 the Province of Manitoba provided funding to Red River to create what we call EV Tech, or Electrical Vehicle Technology and Education Centre, to address the development of an all-electric battery transit bus. So as a result of the original project and some subsequent support from other organizations, we now have five buses on the road.

Dale Friesen

Our partnerships with Red River College allow us to explore different ways to use technologies, to be innovative, to be creative, and that's a real fundamental part of our relationship with Red River College.

People Discovery Innovation

Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie du Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Le CRSNG présente 2 minutes avec Ray Hoemsen, directeur de la recherche appliquée et de la commercialisation

Red River College, en partenariat avec Manitoba Hydro


Résumé

Titre de la vidéo

2 minutes avec Ray Hoemsen

Auteur

Division des communications du CRSNG

Durée

2:26

Date de diffusion

le 16 février 2016

Description

Le CRSNG présente 2 minutes avec Ray Hoemsen Le Red River College et Manitoba Hydro travaillent en partenariat depuis plus de dix ans en vue d’améliorer le rendement énergétique et la durabilité au Manitoba. Leurs travaux de recherche sur l’efficacité énergétique des bâtiments ont mené à la construction du bâtiment le plus écoénergétique de l’Amérique du Nord. Le partenariat englobe maintenant le transport électrique durable et a permis à M. Hoemsen de remporter en 2015 l'un des Prix Synergie pour l'innovation décernés par le CRSNG.


Transcription
Dale Friesen

Manitoba Hydro est un chef de file en matière de conservation. Nous sommes responsables de la prestation de la plupart des programmes de conservation et d’efficacité énergétique ici, dans la province du Manitoba. Dans le cadre de ces programmes, nous établissons de nombreuses relations, entre autres avec le Red River College.

Ray Hoemsen

La collaboration avec Manitoba Hydro a commencé par un projet de tour de bureaux au centre-ville en 2005. Ils cherchaient un laboratoire avec lequel travailler pour élaborer le prototype de l’enveloppe de l’immeuble dans lequel nous sommes. Ils voulaient un immeuble très écoénergétique et nous voulions nous assurer que la nouvelle technologie que nous allions intégrer à Manitoba Hydro Place serait adaptée aux conditions climatiques que nous connaissons ici, surtout les grands froids.

Dale Friesen

L’immeuble est très différent. Il est ouvert sur le monde extérieur. Pour ce faire, il faut beaucoup de technologies novatrices. Nous utilisons la technologie solaire passive, par exemple le mur-rideau et les divers types de verre que nous avons intégré à l’immeuble. Plutôt que d’utiliser des ventilateurs pour faire circuler l’air, nous nous servons de la convection naturelle.

Ray Hoemsen

Nous avons reçu un prix de développement durable de la province en 2009 et, plus récemment, d’une organisation internationale, pour le travail que nous menons en technologies durables.

Dale Friesen

Il faut des occasions d’examiner les nouvelles technologies, de comprendre leur pertinence pour le Manitoba et de chercher des moyens de les adopter. Le partenariat avec le Red River College nous permet de faire cela. Le projet d’autobus électriques du Manitoba est un projet très emballant parce qu’il est à la fine pointe.

Ray Hoemsen

En 2010, la province du Manitoba a accordé des fonds au Red River College afin de créer ce que nous appelons EV Tech, ou le centre d’éducation et de technologie de véhicules électriques, en vue de mettre au point des autobus à batterie entièrement électriques. Ainsi, grâce au projet initial et à l’appui subséquent d’autres organisations, nous avons maintenant cinq autobus en service.

Dale Friesen

Notre partenariat avec le Red River College nous permet d’explorer divers moyens d’utiliser la technologie, d’être innovateurs, et d’être créatifs; il s’agit là de l’essence même de notre rapport avec le Red River College.

Cette vidéo vous a-t-elle été utile?

Très utile

Peu utile

Inutile

Sans opinion

Commentaires :

Les gens. La découverte. L'innovation.