Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

NSERC Presents 2 Minutes With Makoto C. Fujiwara
ALPHA-Canada Team, TRIUMF


Summary

Video Name

2 Minutes with Makoto C. Fujiwara

Author

NSERC Communications

Duration

2:57

Release Date

February 3, 2014

Description

Canadian scientists have narrowed the gap between science-fiction and reality. In 2010 and 2011, Canadian researchers on the ALPHA research team at the CERN laboratory near Geneva, Switzerland, played key roles in demonstrating that it was possible to capture antimatter atoms in a magnetic bottle. Then in 2012, they developed methods that led to the first measurement of the properties of atomic antimatter.

The seamless collaboration among this multidisciplinary team, its mastery of multiple technologies, and its tight integration with the international team at CERN has earned it the prestigious 2013 NSERC's John C. Polanyi Award.

Transcript
Makoto C. Fujiwara

We believe that our universe began with a big bang. There was an equal amount of matter and antimatter created. But if you look at the universe today, we see a very little amount of antimatter in the observable universe.

So one of the big mysteries in modern science is what happened to antimatter in the universe?

Antimatter is a counterpart of matter, and for every matter particle, there's antimatter particles. We work in the Alpha Project, which is an international project located at CERN, which is an international laboratory in Geneva, Switzerland. And at CERN we studied what is called antimatter atoms. And by studying these antimatter atoms, producing them and trapping them in a laboratory, we want to see if there's any difference in its fundamental properties, such as, do they shine in different colours, do they weigh different between the matter and antimatter?

According to fundamental laws of physics, which connect the quantum physics in Einstein's relativity, these properties of antimatter and matter have to be exactly the same.

So the Alpha Project is an international project so that groups from different countries make different contributions, depending on their expertise. From Canada, we have several expertise that are unique within Alpha, and one is a detector, a particle detector. So here at TRIUMF, we design and also build electronics for particle detectors. And in order to study antimatter particles, we had to see we had to be able to detect it. And so we have constructed sophisticated electronics here at the TRIUMF Laboratory and then brought it to CERN.

CERN Laboratory is the only place in the world which can produce antimatter particles right now, so that's why we go there from Canada to participate in this international project.

One of the recent results that Alpha has been able to achieve is to study the internal structure of an antimatter atom for the first time. Nobody had seen what the internal structure is of antimatter atoms. And using microwave techniques developed here in Vancouver, was Professor by Professor Hardy and Professor Hayden of UBC and SFU, we've been able to demonstrate the first microwave spectroscopy experiment on antimatter atoms.

Without NSERC support, we couldn't have done any of this research.

Was this video useful?

Very useful

Somewhat useful

Not useful

No opinion

Comments:

People Discovery Innovation

Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie du Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Le CRSNG présente 2 minutes avec Makoto C. Fujiwara
ALPHA-Canada Team, TRIUMF


Résumé

Titre de la vidéo

2 minutes avec Makoto C. Fujiwara

Auteur

Division des communications du CRSNG

Durée

3:19

Date de diffusion

le 3 fevrier 2014

Description

Des scientifiques canadiens ont réduit le fossé entre la science fiction et la réalité. En 2010 et en 2011, les chercheurs canadiens qui faisaient partie de l'équipe de recherche ALPHA du laboratoire du Centre européen pour la recherche nucléaire (CERN), situé près de Genève (Suisse), ont joué un rôle important dans les efforts déployés pour démontrer qu'il est possible de piéger des atomes d'antimatière dans une bouteille magnétique. Puis, en 2012, ils ont élaboré des méthodes qui ont permis de mesurer pour la première fois les propriétés de l'antimatière atomique.

La collaboration harmonieuse qui règne au sein de cette équipe multidisciplinaire, sa maîtrise de nombreuses technologies et son intégration étroite à l'équipe internationale du CERN lui ont valu le prestigieux Prix John C. Polanyi du CRSNG de 2013 du CRSNG.


Transcription
Makoto C. Fujiwara

Nous croyons que l'univers est né lors du Big Bang, où la matière et l'antimatière ont été créées en quantité égale. Pourtant, aujourd'hui, nous voyons très peu d'antimatière dans l'univers observable.

L'un des grands mystères des sciences modernes est donc le sort de l'antimatière dans l'univers.

L'antimatière est l'opposée de la matière; pour chaque particule de matière, il y a une particule d'antimatière. Nous participons au projet international Alpha, au CERN, qui est un laboratoire international situé à Genève, en Suisse. Au CERN, nous étudions ce qu'on appelle les atomes d'antimatière. En étudiant ces atomes, en les produisant et en les piégeant en laboratoire, nous cherchons à déterminer si leurs propriétés fondamentales – par exemple, la couleur dont ils brillent ou leur masse – diffèrent de celles des atomes de matière.

Selon les lois fondamentales de la physique, qui sont liées à la physique quantique et à la théorie de la relativité d'Einstein, les propriétés de l'antimatière et de la matière doivent être exactement les mêmes.

Le projet Alpha est international, donc des groupes de divers pays apportent une contribution en fonction de leur expertise. Celui du Canada a plusieurs champs d'expertise uniques au sein d'Alpha, dont les détecteurs de particules. Ici, au TRIUMF, nous concevons et fabriquons des composants électroniques pour ces détecteurs. Pour étudier les particules d'antimatière, il fallait les voir, les détecter. Nous avons donc fabriqué des appareils perfectionnés ici, au laboratoire TRIUMF, puis les avons emportés au CERN.

Le laboratoire du CERN est le seul endroit au monde où l'on peut produire des particules d'antimatière à l'heure actuelle, c'est pourquoi nous partons du Canada pour participer à ce projet international.

Récemment, Alpha a réussi à étudier la structure interne d'un atome d'antimatière pour la première fois. Nul n'avait encore vu la structure interne d'un atome d'antimatière. Au moyen de techniques à micro-ondes mises au point ici, à Vancouver, par les professeurs Hardy et Hayden de la UBC et de la SFU, nous avons pu mener la première expérience de spectroscopie à micro-ondes sur des atomes d'antimatière.

Sans l'appui du CRSNG, toute cette recherche aurait été impossible.

Cette vidéo vous a-t-elle été utile?

Très utile

Peu utile

Inutile

Sans opinion

Commentaires :

Les gens. La découverte. L'innovation.