Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

NSERC Presents a Conversation With Axel Becke
Department of Chemistry, Dalhousie University, interviewed by B. Mario Pinto, President of NSERC


Summary

Video Name

Conversation with Axel Becke

Author

NSERC Communications

Duration

3:21

Release Date

February 17, 2015

Description

Scientists and engineers around the world rely on Dr. Axel Beckeís ground-breaking chemical theories and computational methods to advance numerous sectors ranging from drug discovery to cleaner energy. Dr. Becke is the 2015 winner of NSERC's Gerhard Herzberg Canada Gold Medal for Science and Engineering. Itís no wonder the Dalhousie University chemistry professor is one of the most frequently cited researchers in the world.

Transcript
Mario Pinto

Hello, ladies and gentlemen. I am Mario Pinto, President of NSERC, and I am here with Dr. Axel Becke, recipient of the 2014 Herzberg Gold Medal. Axel, itís good to speak with you. And congratulations on winning NSERCís top research prize.

Axel Becke

Thank you very much.

Mario Pinto

Axel, youíve made a revolutionary, fundamental contribution to chemistry and related areas. Could you comment and tell us a little bit about the nature of your discovery and its impact?

Axel Becke

My research area is called density functional theory, and we all refer to it as just DFT. Density functional theory is concerned with the motions of electrons in all matter, and it is a branch of quantum theory that allows us to do computations of systems containing enormous numbers of atoms.

So quite literally, density functional theory is applicable to anything and everything because all matter in our terrestrial world depends on the motion of electrons, but until the 1980s, I would say, it did not have high enough accuracy to be useful. And I just wondered how can we make it better? think, to put it in a nutshell, 30 years later, we have improved the accuracy of DFT energy calculations by about a factor of 50.

Mario Pinto

What types of scientists are making use of your methods?

Axel Becke

All scientists, and Iím not being facetious with that answer. My papers have been referenced a hundred thousand times to date and are increasing at the rate of 8,000 per year.

Mario Pinto

How do you think NSERC and support in general from the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council has helped you and has been important to your career progress?

Axel Becke

Absolutely 100 percent important. NSERC has been my constant research partner every year of my academic and graduate student career.

Mario Pinto

Where do you think the field of chemistry is heading?

Axel Becke

Chemistry really is the central science of everything, and I think all challenges in the future that will benefit mankind will have chemistry as a central tool. So you can just list off the exciting developments in science that are coming up: biological chemistry, medicinal chemistry, self-assembling nanosystems, 3D printing, solar energy conversion. Nature does it better than anyone else. Itís photosynthesis; thatís chemistry.

Mario Pinto

Well, itís been a pleasure to be a partner, Axel. And thank you very much for taking the time to speak with me today.

Axel Becke

Thank you. Thank you very much.

People Discovery Innovation

Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie du Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Le CRSNG présente une conversation avec
Axel Becke
Département de chimie, Dalhousie University,
interviewé par B. Mario Pinto, président du CRSNG


Résumé

Titre de la vidéo

Conversation avec Axel Becke

Auteur

Division des communications du CRSNG

Durée

3:21

Date de diffusion

le 17 février 2015

Description

Les scientifiques et les ingénieurs du monde entier s’appuient sur les théories chimiques et les méthodes computationnelles de pointe d’Axel Becke pour faire progresser de nombreux secteurs, de la découverte de médicaments à la production d’énergie propre. M. Becke est le récipiendaire 2015 de la Médaille d'or Gerhard-Herzberg en sciences et en génie du Canada, décernée par le CRSNG. Il n’est pas surprenant que ce professeur de chimie de la Dalhousie University soit l’un des chercheurs les plus cités du monde.


Transcription
Mario Pinto

Bonjour, mesdames et messieurs. Je suis Mario Pinto, le président du CRSNG, et je suis avec M. Axel Becke, le gagnant de la médaille Herzberg 2014. Axel, c’est un plaisir de parler avec vous et je vous félicite d’avoir remporté la distinction la plus prestigieuse décernée par le CRSNG.

Axel Becke

Merci beaucoup.

Mario Pinto

Axel, vous avez apporté une contribution fondamentale et révolutionnaire à la chimie et aux domaines connexes. Pourriez-vous nous donner un aperçu de la nature de votre découverte et de ses retombées?

Axel Becke

Mes travaux portent sur la théorie de la fonctionnelle de la densité ou DFT. Cette théorie se rapporte au mouvement des électrons dans la matière. C’est une branche de la théorie quantique qui nous permet de faire des calculs sur des systèmes renfermant un nombre considérable d’atomes.

La théorie de la fonctionnelle de la densité s’applique à pratiquement tout, parce que toute la matière, dans notre monde terrestre, dépend du mouvement des électrons. Mais jusqu’aux années 1980, je dirais, la théorie n’était pas assez exacte pour être utile. Je me suis simplement demandé comment nous pourrions l’améliorer. En résumé, je pense qu’en 30 ans, nous avons amélioré l’exactitude des calculs d’énergie réalisés au moyen de la théorie – exactitude qui a été multipliée par environ 50.

Mario Pinto

Quels types de scientifiques utilisent vos méthodes?

Axel Becke

Tous les scientifiques. Et ce n’est pas une blague. On a fait référence à mes articles 100 000 fois à ce jour et ce nombre augmente de 8 000 par an.

Mario Pinto

Selon vous, en quoi le CRSNG et son appui en général vous ont-ils été utiles et ont-ils été importants pour la progression de votre carrière?

Axel Becke

Ils ont été tout à fait indispensables. Le CRSNG a été un partenaire de recherche fidèle chaque année de mes études et de ma carrière universitaires.

Mario Pinto

À votre avis, quelle direction le domaine de la chimie prend-il?

Axel Becke

La chimie est vraiment la science au cœur de tout. Je pense que tous les défis à relever à l’avenir pour le mieux-être de l’humanité en dépendront. Pensons simplement aux avancées scientifiques palpitantes qui s’en viennent – la chimie biologique, la chimie médicale, les nanosystèmes à auto-assemblage, l’impression 3D, la conversion de l’énergie solaire, que la nature fait mieux que quiconque : c’est la photosynthèse, c’est la chimie.

Mario Pinto

Eh bien, c’est un plaisir d’être votre partenaire, Axel. Je vous remercie d’avoir pris le temps de parler avec moi aujourd’hui.

Axel Becke

Merci beaucoup.

Cette vidéo vous a-t-elle été utile?

Très utile

Peu utile

Inutile

Sans opinion

Commentaires :

Les gens. La découverte. L'innovation.