Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Simulating Soil for Heavy Machinery Training

Summary

Video Name

Simulating Soil for Heavy Machinery Training

Author

NSERC Communications

Duration

2:16

Release Date

November 20, 2014

Description

Serious Labs, an Edmonton-based company, specializes in simulators and e-learning technologies for training heavy machine operators. To provide trainees with the most realistic simulation possible, the company partnered with researchers from the University of Regina to develop computer models that accurately render soil. In the simulation, trainees sit in a console that recreates the cab of a bulldozer or a backhoe, and a screen in front of them shows a computer visualization of a worksite. Trainees operate the machinery, moving dirt from one location to another, practicing their skills in a virtual environment that emulates real world conditions.

Transcript
Jason Seltzer Serious Labs is a company that specializes in training simulations and e-learning for training purposes in the construction, mining, and oil and gas industries.
Howard Hamilton Soil is very tricky to simulate because, if you think of it, the soil consists of millions of particles. It takes a lot of computation to move soil around. And at one level that doesn’t seem very important, but in the computer simulation, if the soil doesn’t move correctly, people will immediately be bothered by that, and it will take them away from the simulation that they’re in. So if they’re doing training, they want the simulation to look realistic.
Jason Seltzer The dirt technology that we’re talking about here is very speculative. It would be very high risk for our company to do on our own. This is a great way for us to kind of take some of that risk off of our shoulders.
Howard Hamilton With the Engage Grant, the idea was that we set up a preliminary collaboration with a company we had never worked with before. It was a very nice extension of our work that we had already been doing, but it applied directly to a problem of interest to Serious Labs.
Jason Seltzer They can come at things from a completely different angle, which they have.
Howard Hamilton We had produced, we’ll say, a prototype of the software, but it could not be used in practice by Serious Labs at the end of the Engage Grant. Serious Labs was very interested in us continuing the work on those solutions, and so that’s why we looked at an Engage Plus Grant.
Jason Seltzer I think it’s probably very fulfilling to work on something and know that it’s going to someone who’s excited to use it.
Howard Hamilton We see an opportunity to take research that has been funded by the Canadian taxpayer and apply it in a way that benefits the Canadian economy. So then one could imagine, if our research is useful, that a whole generation of people who are operating equipment, machinery and large machines would benefit from improved training.

Contact us at 1-877-767-1767

People Discovery Innovation

Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie du Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Simuler le sol dans le cadre d’une formation sur la machinerie lourde

Résumé

Titre de la vidéo

Simuler le sol dans le cadre d’une formation sur la machinerie lourde

Auteur

Division des communications du CRSNG

Durée

2:16

Date de diffusion

le 20 novembre 2014

Description

Une entreprise d’Edmonton, Serious Labs, se spécialise dans les simulateurs et les technologies d’apprentissage électronique destinés à la formation des opérateurs de machinerie lourde. Pour offrir aux participants la simulation la plus réaliste possible, elle a établi un partenariat avec des chercheurs de la University of Regina pour élaborer des modèles informatiques qui donnent une représentation exacte du sol. Dans la simulation, les participants s’assoient devant une console qui recrée la cabine d’un bouteur ou d’une rétrocaveuse. L’écran qui se trouve devant eux contient une image informatique d’un lieu de travail. Les participants font fonctionner la machine, déplaçant la terre d’un endroit à l’autre et s’exerçant dans un environnement virtuel qui imite les conditions réelles.


Transcription
Jason Seltzer Serious Labs est une entreprise spécialisée dans la formation par simulation et l’apprentissage électronique dans les domaines de la construction et de l’exploitation minière, pétrolière et gazière.
Howard Hamilton Le sol est très difficile à simuler étant donné qu’il est constitué de millions de particules. Il faut beaucoup de calculs pour en reproduire le mouvement. Cela peut sembler un détail, mais, dans la simulation sur ordinateur, si le sol ne bouge pas correctement, ça dérange les utilisateurs et ça les distrait de l’exercice. S’ils sont en formation, il faut donc que la simulation soit réaliste.
Jason Seltzer La technologie de simulation du sol dont il est question ici est très spéculative; c’est un très grand risque que notre entreprise ne peut pas prendre seule et le partenariat permet d’en atténuer une partie.
Howard Hamilton L’idée derrière la subvention d’engagement partenarial était d’établir une première collaboration avec une entreprise avec laquelle nous n’avions jamais travaillé, ce qui s’inscrivait parfaitement dans nos activités tout en s’appliquant directement à un problème intéressant pour Serious Labs.
Jason Seltzer Ils sont en mesure d’aborder les problèmes sous un angle complètement différent et ils le font.
Howard Hamilton Nous avions produit un prototype du logiciel, mais Serious Labs ne pouvait pas en faire usage au terme de la subvention. L’entreprise était très intéressée à poursuivre les travaux relatifs à ces solutions, donc nous avons envisagé une subvention d’engagement partenarial Plus.
Jason Seltzer Je crois que c’est très valorisant de travailler sur quelque chose quand on sait que ce sera utile à quelqu’un.
Howard Hamilton Nous voyons là une occasion d’appliquer la recherche financée par les contribuables de manière à en faire profiter l’économie canadienne. On peut ainsi présumer que, si notre recherche est utile, une génération entière d’opérateurs d’équipement et de machinerie lourde profitera d’une formation améliorée.

Contactez-nous au 1-877-767-1767