Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Protecting Pilots Against Laser Attacks

Summary

Video Name

Protecting Pilots Against Laser Attacks

Author

NSERC Communications

Duration

2:28

Release Date

November 20, 2014

Description

When a beam is shone at a cockpit, pilots can become distracted or suffer serious eye damage, making it difficult to navigate the aircraft. In 2013, Transport Canada reported 461 ‘lasing’ incidents, a 24 per cent increase over 2012. In the U.S. and U.K, attacks number in the thousands, annually.

Lamda Guard, a division of Metamaterials Technologies Inc., partnered successfully with researchers at the University of Moncton to develop nano-composite filters for windshields that prevent laser beams from infiltrating cockpits. This thin-film selectively blocks light from specific colors, or wavelengths, without interfering with visibility.

Transcript
George Palikaras We are the world’s first company in optical metamaterials. We have a division called Lamda Guard developing some technology, some interesting technology for companies like Airbus to protect against laser attacks.
Ashrit Pandurang Where there is a light going through a glass plate, you can choose which are the parts you want to eliminate and which is the light that you want to go through.
George Palikaras I became aware of the great research that Professor Ashrit does in Moncton, so I arranged a meeting.
Ashrit Pandurang They came and talked to us and then we looked at what are the possibilities that we have, you know, in order to get the initial support, you know, to start the project. And this is where we came to know. And we looked at all the programs of NSERC and of course the regional office here helped us a lot.
George Palikaras NSERC has done an amazing job putting the right programs to help industry become more innovative. It’s the only way that Canadian companies can compete in international markets.
Ashrit Pandurang We initially tried, you know, whether we can do it, you know, sort of a feasibility study, and it gave good results. We actually produced those filters, you know, in our laboratory.
George Palikaras That kick-started a whole different level of collaboration and moved forward with a bigger project, which is called the CRD, a Collaborative Research and Development project by NSERC, which was – which is still ongoing and it’s worth $650,000. We currently work with the University of Moncton In New Brunswick, University of New Brunswick, UNB.
Ashrit Pandurang And each of the universities has a unique expertise. Bigger industries are going to get involved and so we are seeing a very, very bright future.
George Palikaras We owe it all to NSERC who were the first partner in bridging the gap between us and the academic institutes with research dollars that we put into good use.

Contact us at 1-877-767-1767

People Discovery Innovation

Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie du Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Protéger les pilotes contre les attaques au laser

Résumé

Titre de la vidéo

Protéger les pilotes contre les attaques au laser

Auteur

Division des communications du CRSNG

Durée

2:28

Date de diffusion

le 20 novembre 2014

Description

Un faisceau laser dirigé vers un poste de pilotage peut distraire les pilotes ou leur causer de graves dommages aux yeux, nuisant à leur capacité de piloter l’avion. En 2013, Transports Canada a déclaré 461 incidents liés au laser, une augmentation de 24 p. 100 par rapport à 2012. Aux États-Unis et au Royaume-Uni, le nombre d’attaques annuelles se chiffre à des milliers.

Lamda Guard, une filiale de la société Metamaterial Technologies Inc., a établi un partenariat fructueux avec des chercheurs de l’Université de Moncton pour élaborer des filtres nanocomposites pour les pare-brise qui empêchent les faisceaux laser de s’infiltrer dans le poste de pilotage. Ce film mince bloque sélectivement la lumière de certaines couleurs ou longueurs d’onde sans nuire à la visibilité.


Transcription
George Palikaras Notre compagnie est la première au monde à œuvrer dans les métamatériaux optiques. L’une de nos divisions, Lamda Guard, élabore des technologies, dont une qui est intéressante pour des entreprises comme Airbus afin de se protéger contre les tirs au laser.
Ashrit Pandurang Lorsque de la lumière traverse un panneau de verre, on peut choisir quelles composantes on veut éliminer et quelles composantes on veut laisser passer.
George Palikaras J’ai été informé de l’excellente recherche réalisée par le professeur Ashrit à Moncton, donc j’ai organisé une rencontre.
Ashrit Pandurang Ils sont venus nous parler et nous avons ensuite étudié les possibilités qui s’offraient à nous pour obtenir l’appui initial afin de démarrer le projet. Nous nous sommes renseignés. Nous avons analysé tous les programmes du CRSNG, et bien sûr, le bureau régional nous a beaucoup aidés.
George Palikaras Le CRSNG a fait un travail remarquable en créant des programmes qui permettent à l’industrie d’innover davantage. Il s’agit de la seule façon pour les entreprises canadiennes de concurrencer les autres dans le marché mondial.
Ashrit Pandurang Au début, nous avons tenté d’établir si nous pouvions le faire en réalisant une sorte d’étude de faisabilité et nous avons obtenu de bons résultats. Nous avons produit ces filtres dans notre laboratoire.
George Palikaras Cela nous a menés à un autre niveau de collaboration, et nous avons entrepris un plus vaste projet appuyé par une subvention de recherche et développement coopérative du CRSNG qui est toujours active et qui se chiffre à 650 000 $.Nous travaillons actuellement avec l’Université de Moncton au Nouveau-Brunswick et avec l’Université du Nouveau-Brunswick, UNB.
Ashrit Pandurang Chaque université a une expertise unique. De plus grandes entreprises collaboreront bientôt avec nous, donc nous envisageons un avenir très prometteur.
George Palikaras Nous devons notre réussite au CRSNG qui a été le premier partenaire à faire le pont entre nous et les établissements postsecondaires grâce à des fonds de recherche que nous mettons à profit.

Contactez-nous au 1-877-767-1767