Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Access to Information and Privacy

Background

The This link will take you to another Web site Access to Information Act (ATIA) and the This link will take you to another Web site Privacy Act came into effect in July 1983.

The This link will take you to another Web site Access to Information Act establishes the rights of all individuals (Canadian citizens and permanent residents within the meaning of subsection 2. (1) of the This link will take you to another Web site Immigration and Refugee Protection Act) and corporate entities present in Canada to have access to information contained in federal government records. The right of access is subject to certain specific and limited exceptions of the Act.

The This link will take you to another Web site Privacy Act gives all individuals in Canada the right to access their personal information held by the government and manages how their personal information is collected, kept, used, protected and disclosed [This link will take you to another Web site sections 4-8 of the Privacy Act].

This link will take you to another Web site Info Source is a directory of federal government information and related guides. Info Source publications support the federal government's ongoing commitment to promoting openness and the accessibility of information regarding its activities. It is a key reference tool to assist members of the public in exercising their rights to This link will take you to another Web site request government information under the This link will take you to another Web site Access to Information Act and the This link will take you to another Web site Privacy Act.

Quicklinks

How to Make a Request

Informal Requests

The Government of Canada encourages the release of information through informal requests. When an Access to Information request is for material which may be provided without recourse to the Act, the ATIP office will inform you that an access request is not required and that the information is being provided in accordance with normal government practice.

The Access to Information Act is intended to complement, not replace, established channels of communication. NSERC has always operated transparently and promoted open channels of communication with the research community and the public. We encourage you to contact us before using the ATI Act to request information.

Formal Requests

Any person or entity present in Canada pursuant to This link will take you to another Web site section 4 of the Access to Information Act and section This link will take you to another Web site 12. (1) of the Privacy Act has the legal right to request and obtain information that is under the control of a government institution.

You can submit a request for information held by the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada (NSERC) by using the forms from the Treasury Board Secretariat of Canada below:

Application steps

The following procedures should be followed when making a formal request under the Access to Information Act or the Privacy Act.

If a letter or e-mail is submitted instead of the Access to Information Request or Privacy Request form, the following information must be included:

  • statement that the information is being requested under the Access to Information Act or Privacy Act;
  • name of the appropriate government institution;
  • description of the records requested (be as specific as possible);
  • preferred method of accessing the records (e.g. receiving photocopies of the original documents or viewing the originals in the government office where they are located);
  • name, street address, city or town, province or territory, postal code, telephone number(s), e-mail address and signature of the applicant; and
  • date of request.

Principles for Assisting Applicants

In processing your request under the This link will take you to another Web site Access to Information Act or This link will take you to another Web site Privacy Act, the NSERC ATIP office will:

  • Process your request without regard to your identity.
  • Offer reasonable assistance throughout the request process.
  • Provide information on the Access to Information Act or Privacy Act, including information on the processing of your request and your right to complain to the appropriate Commissioner of Canada (the This link will take you to another Web site Office of the Privacy Commissioner of Canada or the This link will take you to another Web site Office of the Information Commissioner of Canada)
  • Inform you as appropriate and without undue delay when your request needs to be clarified.
  • Make every reasonable effort to locate and retrieve the requested records or personal information under the control of NSERC.
  • Apply limited and specific exemptions to the requested records or personal information.
  • Provide accurate and complete responses.
  • Provide timely access to the requested information.
  • Provide records or personal information in the format requested and, in certain circumstances, the official language requested.
  • Provide an appropriate location at NSERC to examine the requested information, if needed.

Fees

Access to Information Request

Applicants may be required to pay a This link will take you to another Web site fee for:

  • making an application ($5.00);
  • the costs of reproducing a record;
  • the time taken to search for a record or prepare (sever) any part of it for disclosure where the time exceeds five hours;
  • producing a computer record.

Fees cannot be charged for the following:

  • the costs of reviewing documents to determine whether they are exempt or excluded;
  • maintaining statistics or documentation relating to the administration of the Act;
  • filing (including filing of requests and re-filing of records);
  • providing facilities for processing requests or public access; or
  • shipping.

If costs are less than $25.00, fees are generally waived.

If costs exceed $25.00, all costs are payable in full and the applicant must send a deposit before NSERC proceeds with the request. All computer costs are payable in full by the applicant. All fees must be paid by the applicant before access is granted.

Privacy Request

There are no This link will take you to another Web site fees or charges for the processing of requests made under the Privacy Act.

Timeframe for Responding to Access or Privacy Requests

The legislated timeframe for responding to Access to Information or Privacy requests is 30 calendar days. This link will take you to another Web site Section 9 of the Access to Information Act permits an institution to extend the time limit to respond to a request beyond the 30 calendar days if:

  • the request is for a large number of records or requires a search through a large number of records, and the original time limit would unreasonably interfere with the operations of the institution;
  • external consultations are necessary and cannot reasonably be expected to be completed within the original time limit; or
  • notice to a third party is required to advise him or her that his or her information is the subject of a request and to provide them with an opportunity to provide input on the disclosure.

This link will take you to another Web site Section 15 of the Privacy Act permits an institution to extend the time limit to respond to a request for a maximum of 30 calendar days beyond the initial 30 days if:

  • the original time limit would unreasonably interfere with the operations of the institution; or
  • consultations are necessary and cannot reasonably be expected to be completed within the original time restriction.

Info Source

Info Source: Sources of Federal Government and Employee Information provides information about the functions, programs, activities and related information holdings of government institutions subject to the This link will take you to another Web site Access to Information Act and the This link will take you to another Web site Privacy Act. It provides individuals and employees of the government (current and former) with relevant information to access personal information about them held by government institutions subject to the Privacy Act and to exercise their rights under the Privacy Act.

The This link will take you to another Web site Introduction to Info Source: Sources of Federal Government and Employee Information and the This link will take you to another Web site List of institutions subject to the This link will take you to another Web site Access to Information Act and the This link will take you to another Web site Privacy Act are available centrally.

The This link will take you to another Web site Access to Information Act and the This link will take you to another Web site Privacy Act assign overall responsibility to the President of Treasury Board (as the designated Minister) for the government-wide administration of the legislation.

Records of Completed Access to Information Requests

The Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada (NSERC) posts monthly on its Web site a list of requests processed under the This link will take you to another Web site Access to Information Act. The list is chronological by year, month and request number.

The list may not include all requests for information that NSERC’s Access to Information and Privacy (ATIP) Office received. Requests that contain primarily personal information may not be posted.

You may wish to review the summary of Completed Access to Information Requests processed by NSERC’s ATIP Office. To obtain a copy of the records released, contact the Access to Information and Privacy Coordinator.

The records will be disclosed as they were released originally including format and language(s), with the exemptions and exclusions that were applied under the Access to Information Act (exemptions and exclusions may be reviewed and modified prior to release, if necessary).

Annual Reports

Do You Need Help?

If you have any questions about access to information and privacy, contact NSERC’s Access to Information and Privacy Office.

Access to Information and Privacy Coordinator
Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada
350 Albert Street
Ottawa, Ontario
K1A 1H5
Telephone: 613-995-6214
Facsimile: 613-943-1222
E-mail: ATIP-AIPRP@nserc-crsng.gc.ca

Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie du Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Accès à l’information et protection des renseignements personnels

Contexte

La This link will take you to another Web site Loi sur l’accès à l’information (LAI) et la This link will take you to another Web site Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels sont entrées en vigueur en juillet 1983.

La This link will take you to another Web site Loi sur l’accès à l’information établit le droit de tous les individus (citoyens canadiens et résidents permanents au sens du paragraphe 2. (1) de la This link will take you to another Web site Loi sur l’immigration et la protection des réfugiés) et des personnes morales présentes au Canada d’avoir accès à l’information figurant dans les dossiers du gouvernement fédéral. Ce droit d’accès est assujetti à certaines exceptions particulières et limitées prévues par la Loi.

La This link will take you to another Web site Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels donne à toutes les personnes au Canada le droit d’accéder aux renseignements personnels les concernant détenus par le gouvernement et régit la façon dont ces renseignements sont recueillis, conservés, utilisés, protégés et communiqués (This link will take you to another Web site articles 4 à 8 de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels).

This link will take you to another Web site Info Source est un répertoire de renseignements détenus par le gouvernement fédéral et de guides connexes. Les publications d’Info Source aident le gouvernement fédéral à honorer son engagement permanent à promouvoir la transparence et l’accessibilité de l’information concernant ses activités. Il s’agit d’un outil de référence clé qui aide les citoyens à exercer leur droit de demander de l’information détenue par le gouvernement en vertu de la This link will take you to another Web site Loi sur l’accès à l’information et de la This link will take you to another Web site Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels.

Liens rapides

Comment présenter une demande

Demandes non officielles

Le gouvernement du Canada encourage la communication de l’information par suite de demandes non officielles. Lorsqu’il est possible d’obtenir le document faisant l’objet de la demande d’accès sans recourir à la Loi, le Bureau de l’accès à l’information et de la protection des renseignements personnels (AIPRP) vous informera qu’aucune demande d’accès n’est requise et que les renseignements sollicités sont fournis conformément aux pratiques normales de l’administration fédérale.

La Loi sur l’accès à l’information s’ajoute aux moyens de communication établis. Elle ne vise pas à les remplacer. Le CRSNG a toujours fonctionné de manière transparente et privilégié une communication ouverte avec le milieu de la recherche et le grand public. Nous vous encourageons à communiquer avec nous avant de demander de l’information en vertu de la LAI.

Demandes officielles

En vertu de This link will take you to another Web site l’article 4 de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information et de This link will take you to another Web site l’article 12. (1) de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels toute personne ou entité présente au Canada a le droit de demander et d’obtenir des renseignements relevant d’une institution fédérale.

Vous pouvez demander l’accès à de l’information détenue par le Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie du Canada (CRSNG) en utilisant les formulaires du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada ci-dessous :

Étapes de la demande

Les procédures ci-après doivent être suivies pour présenter une demande officielle en vertu de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information ou de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels.

Si vous envoyez une lettre ou un courriel au lieu du formulaire de demande d’accès à l’information ou à des renseignements personnels, il faut fournir l’information suivante :

  • une déclaration indiquant que l’information est demandée en vertu de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information ou de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels;
  • le nom de l’institution gouvernementale pertinente;
  • la description des documents demandés (de façon aussi précise que possible);
  • la méthode d’accès privilégiée (p. ex., recevoir une photocopie des documents originaux ou consulter les originaux dans les bureaux du gouvernement où ils se trouvent);
  • le nom, l’adresse municipale, la ville, la province ou le territoire, le code postal, les numéros de téléphone, l’adresse de courriel et la signature de l’auteur d’une demande;
  • la date de la demande.

Principes pour aider les auteurs de demandes

Au moment de traiter votre demande en vertu de la This link will take you to another Web site Loi sur l’accès à l’information ou de la This link will take you to another Web site Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels, le Bureau de l’AIPRP du CRSNG :

  • ne tiendra pas compte de votre identité;
  • vous offrira une aide raisonnable tout au long du processus de traitement de votre demande;
  • fournira de l’information concernant la Loi sur l’accès à l’information ou la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels, notamment en ce qui concerne le traitement de votre demande et votre droit de porter plainte auprès du commissariat canadien compétent : le This link will take you to another Web site Commissariat à la protection de la vie privée du Canada ou le This link will take you to another Web site Commissariat à l’information du Canada;
  • communiquera avec vous au besoin dans un délai raisonnable si des précisions sont requises au sujet de votre demande;
  • fera tous les efforts raisonnables pour trouver et obtenir les documents ou les renseignements personnels demandés relevant du CRSNG;
  • appliquera de façon précise et limitée les exceptions visant les documents ou les renseignements personnels demandés;
  • fournira des réponses exactes et complètes;
  • communiquera en temps utile les renseignements personnels demandés;
  • fournira les documents ou les renseignements personnels sur le support demandé et, dans certains cas, dans la langue officielle demandée;
  • proposera, au besoin, un endroit approprié dans les locaux du CRSNG pour examiner les renseignements demandés.

Frais de communication des documents

Demande d’accès à l’information

Les auteurs d’une demande doivent payer des This link will take you to another Web site frais de communication pour :

  • présenter une demande (5 $);
  • couvrir les coûts de reproduction d’un document;
  • couvrir le temps requis pour rechercher le document ou préparer (retrancher) certains passages en vue de la communication quand cette tâche prend plus de cinq heures;
  • produire un document informatique.

Aucun droit ne peut être facturé pour :

  • l’examen des documents visant à déterminer s’ils font l’objet d’une exception ou d’une exclusion;
  • la tenue de statistiques ou de documents en lien avec l’administration de la loi;
  • le classement (y compris le classement des demandes et le reclassement des documents);
  • les installations fournies pour traiter les demandes ou l’accès du public;
  • l’envoi.

En général, aucun droit n’est perçu si les coûts sont inférieurs à 25 $.

Si les coûts dépassent 25 $, ils sont payables intégralement et l’auteur d’une demande doit envoyer un dépôt avant que le CRSNG commence à traiter sa demande. L’auteur d’une demande doit prendre en charge tous les coûts informatiques. Il doit acquitter tous les droits avant que l’accès lui soit accordé.

Demande de renseignements personnels

Aucun droit ni aucuns This link will take you to another Web site frais ne sont facturés pour le traitement des demandes présentées en vertu de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels.

Délai de réponse aux demandes d’accès à l’information et de communication de renseignements personnels

Le délai prévu par la Loi pour répondre aux demandes d’accès à l’information ou à des renseignements personnels est de 30 jours civils. L’This link will take you to another Web site article 9 de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information permet à une institution de proroger le délai au-delà de 30 jours civils dans les cas où :

  • l’observation du délai entraverait de façon sérieuse le fonctionnement de l’institution en raison soit du grand nombre de documents demandés, soit de l’ampleur des recherches à effectuer pour donner suite à la demande;
  • les consultations nécessaires pour donner suite à la demande rendraient pratiquement impossible l’observation du délai;
  • il faut aviser un tiers que l’information le concernant a fait l’objet d’une demande et lui donner la possibilité de se prononcer sur la divulgation de cette information.

L’This link will take you to another Web site article 15 de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels permet également à une institution de proroger le délai pour répondre à une demande d’une période maximale de 30 jours si :

  • l’observation du délai entraverait de façon sérieuse le fonctionnement de l’institution;
  • les consultations nécessaires pour donner suite à la demande rendraient pratiquement impossible l’observation du délai.

Info Source

Info Source : Sources de renseignements du gouvernement fédéral et sur les fonctionnaires fédéraux fournit de l’information au sujet des fonctions, des programmes, des activités et des fonds de renseignements connexes des institutions gouvernementales visées par la This link will take you to another Web site Loi sur l’accès à l’information et la This link will take you to another Web site Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels. Il donne aux personnes et aux employés du gouvernement (actuels et anciens) des renseignements pertinents afin de leur donner accès aux renseignements personnels les concernant qui sont détenus par les institutions gouvernementales visées par la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels et les aide à exercer leurs droits en vertu de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels.

Un accès central permet de consulter This link will take you to another Web site l’avant-propos d’Info Source : Sources des renseignements du gouvernement fédéral et sur les fonctionnaires fédéraux et la This link will take you to another Web site liste des organisations assujetties à la Loi sur l’accès à l’information et à la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels.

La Loi sur l’accès à l’information et la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels désignent les responsabilités générales du président du Conseil du Trésor (à titre de ministre désigné) pour ce qui est de l’administration de ces lois à l’échelle du gouvernement fédéral.

Registre de demandes d’accès à l’information complétées

Le Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie du Canada (CRSNG) affiche chaque mois, dans son site Web, une liste des demandes traitées en vertu de la This link will take you to another Web site Loi sur l’accès à l’information. Il s’agit d’une liste chronologique où les demandes sont classées par année, mois et numéro de demande.

Cette liste ne contient pas nécessairement toutes les demandes d’information reçues par le Bureau de l’AIPRP du CRSNG. Il est possible que les demandes qui portent principalement sur des renseignements personnels ne soient pas affichées.

Vous pouvez consulter les résumés des demandes d’accès à l’information complétées qui ont été traitées par le CRSNG. Pour obtenir une copie des documents communiqués, adressez-vous au coordonnateur de l’accès à l’information et de la protection des renseignements personnels.

Les documents seront communiqués dans la langue et le format de leur diffusion initiale et comprendront les exceptions et les exclusions prévues par Loi sur l’accès à l’information (ces exceptions et exclusions pourraient, au besoin, faire l’objet d’un examen et d’une modification avant que les documents soient divulgués).

Rapports annuels

Vous avez besoin d’aide?

Si vous avez des questions sur l’accès à l’information ou sur la protection des renseignements personnels, communiquez avec le Bureau de l’AIPRP du CRSNG.

Coordonnateur de l’accès à l’information et de la protection des renseignements personnels
Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie du Canada
350, rue Albert
Ottawa (Ontario)  K1A 1H5
Téléphone : 613-995-6214
Télécopieur : 613-943-1222
Courriel : ATIP-AIPRP@nserc-crsng.gc.ca